stop the presses!

DAY 71 –

At a young age of 7, my fascination for books ignited. I fondly remember how I oftentimes escaped an afternoon nap to sneak into my grandparents’ library. There, a variety of hardbacks greeted my sight: volumes of fairy tale books to more complex ones like medical hard bounds and encyclopedias. My simple mind back then couldn’t comprehend the words in it. Sometimes, even the images don’t make sense. Yet, if there was one thing I’m sure of as a kid, it would be the satisfaction I felt just by  flipping through them.

Fast forward to 2012. I came across a news that suddenly led me to nostalgia —

It’s OFFICIAL: Encyclopaedia Britannnica, a centuries old publication, has come to a close

Confirmed!

….in terms of printing, mind you.

(Hah! For a 1768 institution, I sure hope they won’t!)

Nevertheless, it sure feels like it. Yesterday, they released an official statement of putting their print editions to a permanent halt. Instead, the “heavily” reliable (pun intended!) book volumes will be replaced by digital publication.

Reality check much? Another international publication (partially) put down by digital domination. For what is is now, Encyclopaedia Britannica is embracing the technology age and maximizing it to its full capacity.

Bye-Bye-Bye

“The end of the print set is something we’ve foreseen for some time,” Jorge Cauz, president of Encyclopaedia Britannica, said in a press release. “It’s the latest step in our evolution from the print publisher we were, to the creator of digital learning products we are today.”

Though their marketing strategy screams wider (online) audience due to convenience, to me, nothing beats the idea of opening a bulky hardback. There’s a certain kind of feeling, how bizarre it maybe, in familiarizing one’s self with the crisp smell of the paper as you flip through the hundreds of pages in search of answers to one’s incessant questions.

Until then, ye volumes. My sincerest gratitude for being a part of my childhood.

qu'est-ce que c'est?

