saturday flashback: RNB

Every generation has its own taste of music. I often hear comparisons from one generation to another, mostly saying how better it is back in the old days. Who would have thought that I would also come to that point and miss the music from MY time — back when I was in pre-teen, then came A teen, then in my “twen-TEENS” a.k.a. PRE-EMPLOYMENT!

That said, here’s some from mine, most of which are RNB music deeply influenced by radios (RX 93.1, Magic  89.9, Wave 89.1), friends and close-knit cousins:

1. Aaliyah, At Your Best (1994)

Personally, I think her release of this song placed RNB in the Pop Map, gaining a wider range of audience and yes…fell in love with the woman who sings beautifully & DEEPLY MISSED.

2. Brandy, Sittin’ Up in My Room (1995)

Then another bites the dust! Not long enough, Brandy emerges in the pop scene alongside many more RNB artists. I remember myself doing head bop trying to be “groovy” with this music. Simply love it.

3. Tamia, So Into You (1995)

The tune is so laid back, it feels good to have a crush or “puppy love” back in high school. Ah, those days wherein we create drama.

4. Faith Evans, Never Let You Go (1999)

Widow of legendary Hiphop Legend, Notorious B.I.G., Faith can belt out a tune or two based from her hit singles in the 90s. This one still gets me every time I hear it on the radio.

5. Chanté Moore, Straight Up (2000)

Back in the days wherein Tae-Bo was one of the “exercise MUST haves”, Chanté surely knows how to infuse her music with the action moves! Guilty as charged, I was influenced to join the bandwagon.

(I almost forgot how Jermaine Dupri was featured in most music I’ve heard!)

There are still lots of music that won’t fit this entry for now (Hel-loooo! Destiny’s Child, Toni Braxton, Shanice and the list goes on!).

But hey, it’s Saturday flashback and I just might do it on a regular 🙂

qu'est-ce que c'est?

