the uncertainty of things

The cold temperature inside this hospital room seems like a dreary representation of the things to come.

My grandmother is confined in UST for a week now due to respiratory problems. As it is, her length of stay here feels like its more than a week, considering how I often see and greet her before (or after) I go to work. The house feels incomplete, longing for the presence of my faithful and ever inquiring grandma (for an 88 year old, she has a very “sharp” memory.)

But I am hopeful — God works in His own ways and certainly, all we have to do is seek His grace and trust His plans. As painful as it is to admit, there’s nothing much I can do but to pray, read His Word, and in my own way, find time to be there for my “lola” and the rest of the family who cares for her.

She has a longtime history with heart problem and as I quote what my aunt said, “every attack is a traitor”.  Just around 8pm today, I talked to my other aunt – her daughter – on how her condition is improving. Came 1130pm, I got a missed call and got word that her condition turned severe — that they have to use a ventilator for her breathing problems. Worse, doctors highly suggested to inject a respiratory tube on her to alleviate her difficulty in breathing.

So to say, it has then became official: my grandmother’s health condition is unpredictable. But instead of giving into the despair of uncertainty, I have to put my “game face” on. I have to mindset that things will be better. And IT WILL BE BETTER.

It will be better no matter what the future will bring.

It will be better no matter how vague the situation is at the moment.

It will be better because my grandmother is fighting for every breath she breathes. Again, she is a fighter.

It will be better because everyone in the family stays connected.

It will be better because life goes on.

and…

IT WILL BE BETTER BECAUSE GOD KNOWS EVERY SINGLE THING GOING ON IN OUR LIVES.

Yes, His plans are always better. Best, even.

 

Romans 26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.

28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who[i] have been calledaccording to his purpose.


4 thoughts on “the uncertainty of things

    • iamjhenny says:

      thank you so much. i try to sleep as i will be going back in the hospital later, but i can’t…

      • iamjhenny says:

        it’s a very appreciated gesture…thank you so much in behalf of my family as well…

qu'est-ce que c'est?

