arrogance & pride

The thought began when I overheard someone say something that interpreted to “I am too good for this!”

Then I said to myself, “Wow. So this is how far that person had become.” I saw how that person’s journey began from the bottom towards the top, and the persona that manifested exudes a strong aroma of arrogance and pride in less than ten years. Frankly, that’s a short amount of time.

No mocking around. The scenario was a sad reality, among many other things.

The same holds true to a lot of people us. All of us.

(Warning: LONG POST.)

I know. The title contains such strong words. But the words also contain a lot of truth of what we are as a society. Otherwise, without pride nor arrogance, crime rates will be low, societal class will not exist and peace is just about everywhere.we.go. 

Thus, begs the question: How am I being arrogant? Or for that matter, proud?

I can cite a lot of ways. I can even cite instances in my life. But my reasoning is perfectly flawed.

So I point to the Bible. And since we are seeking for the Truth (or at least I am!), let me re-post some of the verses:

1 Samuel 2:3 3“Do not keep talking so proudly or let your mouth speak such arrogance, for the LORD is a God who knows, and by him deeds are weighed.

 Proverbs 8:13 13To fear the LORD is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.

Proverbs 11:2 2When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.

Proverbs 16:18 18Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.

Proverbs 29:23 23 A man’s pride brings him low, but a man of lowly spirit gains honor.

Isaiah 2:11 11The eyes of the arrogant man will be humbled and the pride of men brought low; the LORD alone will be exalted in that day.

Obadiah 1:3 3The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rocks and make your home on the heights, you who say to yourself, ‘Who can bring me down to the ground?’

Examples, you say?

Ever have thoughts of how you are better than someone else…or worse, everyone?

How about thoughts of how you are too good for your partner, your friend/s or even strangers?

How about believing you are not suppose to do a certain kind of work?

How about believing a simple task is beneath your “position”? Your thoughts on power?

How about thoughts of  believing “your” wealth can buy you “anything & everything”? 

How about thoughts reeling into material things that “you allow yourself” to define you, and how people think of you?

How about judging someone based on their physical looks or social status? 

How about thinking that another person shouldn’t do something without realizing that you yourself are doing it?

How about thinking everyone else is wrong and you are the only one who’s right? No chance of apologizing, perhaps?

Amazing how these attitudes are exemplified in a lot of ways.

Maybe in the future, or even now, I need this post to bite me in the ass.

So I’ll let these words bite me in the ass right now.

To find fault in another person, after all, is arrogance per se without looking at myself.

Oh yes I said it. Myself.

So I’m starting to correct myself, and reflect about my pride and arrogance.

Hopefully, sharing this post can help others.

If my reasoning depends on the Bible, which to me is Truth and shall set me free, arrogance and pride is a man’s downfall. My downfall.

Don’t believe me? Refer to our first parents: Adam and Eve.

I am no better than everyone else. I am not “too good” for my family, my friends, colleagues and even, my line of work. And, my “earthly possessions” don’t define me. By earthly possessions, I mean money, power and position.

I am not of my own. I either belong to God or Satan.

I choose God. Because without Him, I am nothing.

Starting right now and hopefully towards the future, I would still choose to humble myself and acknowledge that I am nothing without Him. That all glory is due Him. That my life is His and His only.

Then maybe, hopefully, this post will help me guard myself (and others who read this) from arrogance and pride.

2 Corinthians 12:20 

20For I am afraid that when I come I may not find you as I want you to be, and you may not find me as you want me to be. I fear that there may be quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, factions, slander, gossip, arrogance and disorder.

And should I ever come to a point of boasting or taking pride? 

1 Corinthians 1:30-31 

30 It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31 Therefore, as it is written: “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.

qu'est-ce que c'est?

