monkey arms

That’s a cool way to define weight lift exercise intended for women. Aside from THE muffin top, I’m targeting my flabby arms. Thanks to my sister, I’m a proud owner of Fitness Magazine hand-me-downs. Yesterday, I flipped through the magazine pages & found this particular exercise:

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.05.28 PM

We do Monkey Around! The healthy way, of course!

Targets shoulders, triceps, and biceps

  • Stand with feet hip-width apart, holding a dumbbell in each hand, arms by sides.
  • Raise dumbbells up along sides of rib cage to armpits, elbows pointing out to sides.
  • Extend arms out to sides, palms down. Reverse motion back to start.
  • Do 2 sets of 20 reps.

SOURCE: www.fitnessmagazine.com

Yesterday, I did 2 sets of 2o reps. Now I did 5. Happy!

Honestly, my arms are not the worst kind of flabby. But still (flabby). I noticed alongside everyone. To add insult to my injury, I saw a colleague years ago who couldn’t help but notice that I gained weight. It’s not that I have gone extremely overweight; but I guess, with (most) people knowing me as (an ex) health buff, they would go into assumption that I would be conscious of my food intake and would be taking care of my physique.

But there are times that people try and fail. I failed. Yet, it doesn’t mean, I couldn’t pick myself up and try again.

Instead of feeling bad for myself, I’ll consider criticisms as an additional source of motivation (Take note: additional source only.) Primary reason, to me, should always be health and good stewardship of your body.

Oh yes, this body’s undergoing maintenance. Doing more research on weight lifting exercises, targeted towards arm toning and tummy reduction. Need to do alternative workouts to avoid monotony.

Maybe January will be a month of rehabilitating myself towards health and fitness.

Fine by me!

qu'est-ce que c'est?

